Line Following Sensors

Hello everyone,

I am making a line following robot for a competition in Australia called "Robocup Junior". It involves following a line, also, taking shortucts indicated by a green square. At the suggestion of one of the friendly LMRians I invested in an IR Sensor board that can follow the line perfectly. The only problem I have been having is that white and green have the same readings (must be a problem with infra-RED and GREEN being different, or something:)

So I am creating this thread to see if anyone has had any experience with any light or colour (color) sensors.

The sensor needs to have a conserable reading difference between black, white, green and silver (aluminium foil). An optimal reading distance of more than 5mm would be ideal.

Thanks for your help.

-Riddellikins

P.S. - Ease of programming is also quite important as I am a beginner.

For inspiration and ideas

For inspiration and ideas have a look at this one.
http://www.ostan.cz/PocketBot2/

Robocup

Hi Riddellikins,

I have entered robocup junior in NZ using an arduino and five of these:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10-pcs-TCRT5000L-TCRT5000-Reflective-Optical-Sensor-New-/280760529898?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item415ea1b3ea

While they could only tell the difference between white and black, I could overcome this by detecting an intersection, all sensors on black, and then turning the correct way based on a preprogramed sequence; eg, left, left, right, right. They could also be used to detect the silver foil easily. I thought about buying color sensors, but never got round to it, and the reflective sensors are so cheap ($2 for 10, worldwide free shipping).