Learning to Program PICs in C (which compiler to learn with)

Hello LMR,

I'm a newbie here and I was hoping to draw upon the collective wisdom of your members. first of all let me say in no uncertain terms that I do not fancy myself a programmer. I have tinkered around with PIC microcontrollers for a few year using assembler (MPASM) and a little basic (PIC Basic Pro). I can usually muttle through making a simple project with these tools. But now I find myself deployed with a lot of time on my hands and I want to put it to use learning to program in C.

My question is, which compiler do you recommend to learn on? I downloaded the compilers Hitech C, CSS C, and Mikroe C. Using each compiler I wrote a simple LED chaser program that merely sequences the 8 LEDs attached to portD on the 44 pin demo board that came with my PicKit 2 programmer.

Of the three compilers, I found that it was easiest to get the program up and running with CSS C (it was running in a few minutes), next was Mikroe C (it took some tweaking) and I had the most difficulty with Hitech C.

It seem that although each claims to be ANSI compliant, this doesn't prevent them from using thier own convensions. For instance, int in CSS C is defaulted to 8 bit unsigned (if I remember corectly) and in other compilers int is 16 bit signed or unsigned (I forget..getting confused).

Also, CSS C uses mostly built in function and I think has no linker capability. Not sure if this is bad or not? And there are so many other differences between all of them that it makes my head swim. 

So, now that I am totally confused on what I should be looking for in a compiler, does anyone with any programming experience have any wisdom to offer a newbie on which way to go?

Thank you in advance for any help!

I lack the knowledge you are asking for, but,

I would suggest MPLAB and whatever complier comes with it. I would imagine there are a fair number of tutorials getting that toolchain up and working.