L293/SN754410 h-bridge schmatic

H-bridge_2_.jpg (63343Bytes)

Hello,

I am a technology education teacher who teaches an industrial design course. This previous year we used the L293D chip to make a motor shield that works withe Arduino. The schematic that i was using works very well with the L293D chip but will not work with the L293 or the SN754410. Attached is a schematic of my motor shield with diode protection. i hope the diodes allow me to use the L293 and the SN754410. If any one is familiar with this sort of motor shield i would love to have my schematic looked over and any possible suggestions made. 

I did post this on the Arduino forum, but i thought it my be more usefully on here.

You have to connect Vcc1 to

You have to connect Vcc1 to 5V regulated, now you have it connected to 6V through a 10k resistor.

A note about the SN754410

Not sure if you know but you can skip the diodes if you use the SN754410 chip. You speak about it in the same breath as the diode-less L293. The SN754410 has diodes built in like the L293D does.

**I guess **

I guess i can run Vcc1 back to the Arduino to get the 5 volts required or do i need to add a voltage regulator? the circut shown works well with the L293d with out the diodes but won’t work with the sn754410, could Vcc1 be the problem?

Thank you for your input

I was trying to regulate the

I was trying to regulate the voltage through the resistor. i will change it so that it pulls 5 volts from the arduino. Can I tie the L293/SN754410 ground to the arduino ground?

I was under the impression that the SN754410 was not diode protected.

ESD protection diodes are in

ESD protection diodes are in the SN754410 but snubber/kickback protection diodes are not. The difference is not completely apparent to me either, but all the application schematics in the datasheets show additional diodes added and I`m not one to argue with the guys who made the chip.

I made some changes, i don’t