Jumping Mechanism

So I started my new job just recently and I was asked to building a jumping robot as a display. (Not a bad first task if you ask me.)

I'm looking for ideas on jumping mechanisms. I've thought about spring loading, linear actuators, solenoids, etc.

My personal main mechanism I am looking into is similar to an electric airsoft guns mechanism. To explain I give you a Youtube video that should just be a gif. Turn that to be vertical, send the spring pressure into the ground, and we possible have take off.

I'm just hesitant to move forward as I'm worried about gear ratios and motor strength to compressing a large enough spring that will propel the bot. I'm looking for any other ideas on how to do this easily. 

The bot be as small as possible, <2lbs I hope. I have a decent budget, but cheap options are best as always. (Just because I have a job, I'm still a broke college student at heart.)

So lets hear it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwD9ibJQEXA

I just saw that you can buy

I just saw that you can buy actuators made to put into dors of old cars that do not have central locking systems. These are rather tough, they really wants to pull or push half a fingers length or so.

And they weigh next to nothing. Depending on the rest of your project such could make a robot jump. (I would add springs, and experiment on timing to get it all synced up for biggest jumps)

Congrats on the job, nice one!!

No kidding!

You weren’t lying…this looks pretty promising!…cheap too. Putting four of these on the corners should pop the little guy up. I can’t find any info on door lock actuator strengths but at 5 bucks a pop I mine as well try them. Thanks for the info.

How about a piston driven by

How about a piston driven by a gear motor? Something like the picture below, only inverted so to piston is pointed downwards.

images.jpg

Just got the door locking