JST For Dummies

I am interested in learning how to use connectors, but am having trouble finding a beginner's guide. I looked at Molex, but think JST makes more sense for my small projects. Is there a resource that describes what parts are necessary and how to do it. I'm probably only interested in 2, 3 and 4 wire in-line connectors. Is DigiKey the primary source for JST parts? One of the things I want to avoid is buying things that I don't need (e.g., the wrong size crimper). So, as the subject line implies, I'm looking for an absolute beginners' guide to JST connectors.  Thanks.

I’ve never seen such a

I’ve never seen such a guide. That would be handy indeed. The best place I can point you to is the JST site:

http://www.jst.com/home2.html

As far as crimpers go I haven’t looked beyond the fact that they are pricey compared to buying premade cable assemblies. Digikey isn’t they only supplier out there. Personally I’ve been getting mine from The Orient via eBay. You have to buy a dozen or so but they are priced right.

I’ve only had to deal with a couple JST connectors in my time but I’ll share what I know.

There is the ubiquitous JST RCY connector:

guides:jst_rcy_02.jpg

Commonly seen on battery packs. They have a nice 2.5mm pitch that fit onto standard male headers. FWIW I've bought the housings and pins and assembled them with no specific crimping tool, just needlenose pliers.

If you've ever had a Sharp IR sensor you know the JST PH connector:

Does not have a standard 0.1" pitch (I forget what it is). I've seen these used as servo connectors before.

I bought a few micro servos and they came with suprisingly itty bitty JST T-1 connectors:

8473-t1.jpg

Super small with 1.25mm pitch. I've only seen them on very small servos.

Thanks JAX.