Issues & questions using LSS and Python library

Thanks for a very clear guidance (https://community.robotshop.com/tutorials/show/using-the-lss-smart-servos-with-raspberry-pi). @rguimond
So how can I record the feedback from the Lynxmotion Smart Servo (LSS) - Standard? For example I need to calculate the angle and convert to linear movement? Or Do I need something else?
I know python but I am very new with this.
Thanks for your help

1 Like

I assume you will be moving the LSS ST1 using outside force. If so, the first thing you want to do is set it to limp first! (command: #[id]L**\r** )

Then, you can simply read the position using QD, such as #[id]QD**\r**.

That should will be done from your (Python?) application. Once you’ve read (or know) two (or more) positions, you can find a delta of positions (angle) in time. With this information you can determine the motion (linear or otherwise) by converting that delta of position into a length (in your case).

The conversion function will depend on your physical setup. Read this article for some ideas if you haven’t started on this already.

As for the Python part, check the examples provided with the library. Sending a limp command or reading the position should be straight forward enough but let me know if you need more info!
Example from Python library on queries.

2 Likes

Thank you very much for your info. It is clearer now since the feedback of position and length movement are my most concern.

1 Like

Good morning,
Do you have the cable connector which connects the LSS Adapter board to raspberry pi in the website? I bought the board but the cable is not included.
Thanks

@nodochau The easiest way is to use a USB cable. Note that the LSS-5VR allows you to power the Raspberry Pi at 5V (from the USB OUT of this board) from the LSS bus, so you only need one power supply (11.1V LiPo or 12V are best).

1 Like

Good morning,