Integrate head control

Hello,
I am running the brilliant Phoenix hexapod code on Arduino Mega and SSC-32 for my Phoenix hexapod, works great!

I wish to add a head, (using the head to hold/hide a side to side scanning VL53L0X) as i am working on autonomous control (as well as PS2). I guess i could try to just pass serial data for the head servos with direct serial write to the SSC-32 but maybe this would conflict with the serial data coming from the phoenix control, so, my question, has anyone any hints how to integrate extra servos into the phoenix code, so the servo positions for the extra servos get passed to the SSC-32 along with the servo serial data for the legs? Or has someone already written phoenix for Arduino with head and tail for A pod? (i read hundreds of posts but cannot find this).

Sorry if this is a dumb question, i’m really new at this and no code expert.

Kind regards
Ade

Hi Ade,

That sounds great! You should totally post about it here (hint: pictures & videos) and/or here! The RobotShop community is always curious about what people are doing with their robot kits, parts, etc.!

That is a great idea! Of course, this will most likely not be trivial if you want to re-use the existing Phoenix code, such as the version we have here.

As you mention here, having 2 or more sources of output for the SSC-32U’s single serial interface is a Bad Idea™.

The best would be to start by looking at the currently available code and see what needs to be modified to add extra DoFs. See the next answer below for more details.