How to keep pixace controlled robot from getting stuck?

I have built my first robot after advice of  LMR start here. So my robot is navigating with help of IR sensor and has those standard geared motors.

I'm wondering if picaxe can read information from motors if the robot gets stuck. I guess motor makes some noise in such a situation?Can pushing against some obstacle with rubberwheels on harm picaxe?

I would be grateful for any piece of advice!

For Chris’ first suggestion …

on monitoring current, you should check https://www.robotshop.com/letsmakerobots/node/18517 .

thanks and more…

Thank you for helping!

Although monitoring current seems to be good option in long run i’ll try first combination of LDRs for close range warning system and some kind of encoder based on hall effect sensors.

I studied ways of calculating suitable resistor to divide voltage for analogue input. However I couldn’t find answer for some questions.

1. Can i actually use any resistor? is this only question of setting sensible range for a typical situation of your LDR or is it possible that too little or too high resistance in total (LDR and resistor) can cause damage for picaxe?

2. Could it be possible to have several LDR connected in series and to have one Vout for them?

3. I was planning to have one LDR measuring overall light intensity and some in front to detect obsctacles. Would it work if i connected “overall” LDR to ground and another to Vin? would this balace the changes in overall light intensity so that dangerlevel wouldn’t be achieved too easily when having dim overall light?

I think the configuration

I think the configuration below would work for a single LDR. Setting the resistor value close to the LDR’s value when in dim light should help it work OK in most lighting conditions. Be sure the resistor value isn’t too low, so that there is protection from 5V power to ground when the LDR value is close to zero in bright light.

I = V / R