How to Arduino first steps

Blink2.zip (393Bytes)

Ok, so here we are, making a small tutorial to everyone that wanna know what arduino is..

I have some experience with it already, but its low one, so i will start this how to, to everyone that wanna start can follow this first steps.

Day 1:

1. Buy your Arduino.. ^_^
  2. Go to www.arduino.cc and download the last version of SDK, actually is 0011, for your operating system. If you are in windows, (you need to have java, get it at www.java.com) if you are on linux (you need to get java, and some avr libraries.. just do "sudo apt-get install jre avr-gcc avr-libc" and you are ready to go), if you are in Mac, it suppose to only need java, but i never tested.. i can help with that.
  3. This is your first really contact with it, so just connect the cables, let the R232-USB converter install itself, and then run Arduino, check if the com port and your Arduino board version are well selected in the "Tools" menu.
  4. Lets make something, just go, "File"->"Sketchbook"->"Examples"->"Digital"->"Blink", and load that sample file.
  5. If you have Arduino Decimila, you are ready to go, just upload the code to Arduino, and a orange led on the board will start blinking, if you have any other versions of Arduino, just connect a Led, and a resistor of 330 Ohms for example in serie, with the positive in pin 13, and the negative in GRD.
You have done your first Arduino code, and you are ready to start making things with it. (hope i haven't been bored, but first configuration is the hardest, and it needs to be well done to everyone can follow us in next steps.
Thanks for reading, and don't forget to comment.
(video 1 as sample)
TigPT
Tiago Rodrigues

Day 2:

Ok, so we are ready to play with it, so we now go do some code.

I think.. I can make that pretty lamps that change colors to have on my desk.. but how do they work?

What about RGB? ahh but i don't have a Green led.. well i will use a yellow one.. hope make some effect..