How can you control an AL5D via Flowarm PLTW from a Raspberry Pi?

Hello there,
I’d be glad if someone could help me out with some advice…

I am an absolute beginner when it comes to robotics and electronics, but I have an upcoming project, where I have to make a Lynxmotion AL5D arm perform a looped sequence. It’s for an art exhibition, so it’s going to have to run every day, all day, for 3 months. And it has to be very simple to be started every morning, when the exhibition opens.

Since I have no experience with Python, I’d like to use the easy Flowarm PLTW (or Servo Sequence Utility) software that came with the arm to create this sequence. I was planning on using a Raspberry Pi (3b), hidden inside the pedestal. As far as I know, you can’t install the complete Windows OS on a Raspberry?

So, here are my questions:

1. If I install Windows 10 iot on the Raspberry, will Flowarm be able to run on that?
  2. If not, is there another way to make Flowarm work on my Raspberry?
  3. If it DOES work, is there an autostart function in Flowarm that immediately starts my sequence as soon as the raspberry is launched?

I tried Virtual Box and Wine on a Mac to see whether you can control the AL5D via Flowarm from that. It didn’t work. The same for Servo Sequencer Utility. Both softwares were running, but they did not connect to the SSC-32U / AL5D.

As you can see, I’m a complete novice. Please don’t judge me! :slight_smile:
I’d be grateful for any kind of advice…

Ps: So again, here’s what I need:
To start the whole movement of the robotic arm has to be super easy.
Then, once it’s running, it has to just simply do the same movement over and over again. Looping all day.
And I can’t use a (normal) PC for that. It has to be run from a microcontroller like Raspberry, Arduino or something else.
Whatever works.

Sincerely,
Emile

Hey Emile,

Please find below answers to your comments & questions in a in-line format:

I am happy to help! :slight_smile: