Home Security Rover (using DFRobot 4WD Rover RB-Dfr-67)

I recently purchased one of these little rover kits, and think it’s a nice small rover platform. I wanted something small that could potentially go under a lot of different things, because my other robots are to large for that. My idea is to turn this into a Security Rover that has a pan/tilt camera with software to detect motion and follow faces. I’ll use a Raspberry Pi with the motion package and OpenCV, as well as an Arduino based board for low level control (like the Romeo v1.1 controller I have). I’ve already located most of the code I need, and just have to wrap it into my own code after I understand things better.

It looks like I am going to need better encoders though. The ones that come with the kit are not quadrature encoders, so they don’t really provide enough information (like direction of rotation). I’m just starting to learn about encoders, so I could be wrong here. This is my first robot that isn’t based on Lynxmotion products. These encders were extremely difficult for me to install! Is anyone using better (quadrature) encoders with this kit and/or different motors?

Yes, I have assembly pictures, which will follow later. :slight_smile:

8-Dale

Here are my construction pictures for A.R.T.I.E.:

If you are going to add a servo for panning, do that before you mount the controller. If you do it aftwards, it’s really difficult because the two servo screws next to the controller will be very difficult to get in.

When mounting the encoders, it’s best to mount the encoder wheel to the motor before you mount the motor to the chassis. There isn’t much clearance on the underside of the chassis to get the bottom screw in. so be careful. I broke one encoder while doing this part, so it’s a good thing I bought two extra sets of encoders. I still have one full set.