Help! Newbie in need of Arduino programming assistance

Hello everybody! First let me start by apologizing, I’ve read the “newbies start here” post and I’m afraid I must break a few of the rules. I am a student at the Columbus College of Art and Design and I’m working on an installation that requires a pretty complicated (to me) set of robotics.

I’m using an “Arduino Duemilanove” microcontroller with a “HiTec HS-322HD” servo and a “Lego NXT Sound Sensor.” What I need to happen is for the servo to turn in degrees of db level present. So the more sound the NXT sensor picks up the further the servo will turn, and when there is no sound being picked up the servo returns to zero. I have taught myself as much as I can but have finally reached a point where I can’t go any farther.

What I need help with is having the NXT sensor communicate with the servo. I’m fairly familiar with the actionscript programming language, but there seems to only be a small amount of overlap between that and the Arduino language.

Please Help! I’d be appreciated so much!

-michael

The sound sensor is the
The sound sensor is the problem. Without knowing what kind of circuit is inside or what kind of signal it delivers, things are kind of stuck. There is some information about how a Lego RCX sound sensor could be made but not on the NXT. It appears to give an analog signal, so perhaps researching how to connect and code the Arduino to analog signals would be a place to start. Wikipedia has a pinout diagram for NXT sensors, so it appears you only have to work with pins 1, 2, 3, and 4. I’d try powering the sensor by itself, and reading the signal on pin 1 with a meter, to see how high it gets. If it doesn’t go above 5 volts, then you can probably connect it directly to the Arduino analog input and look at their code examples for reading analog values.

The sound sensor is: