Help needed with commands sent via serial

I would like to build a 4wd rover that will be remotely controlled using LabView on a pc. Eventually I would like to add an Xbee 900mhz link and hopefully video to the project as well. I am new to microcontrollers and have the Atom Pro 28 and their usb lab board. I have a basic understanding of electronics, I’m just lacking in the programming area.

How do I get a concatenated string of hex sent via serial to command HPWM and other outputs? The string is kinda long (PC80827F7F80FFFF000100320000X) the LabView code was originally written by another person for an underwater ROV. I am in the process of paring down the strings and removing a lot of unneeded items without wrecking the VI.

If someone could point me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it. If someone could just show me how to activate a simple output with Labview, it would be a step in the right direction

um since your question seems to revolve around how to program something in labview wouldn’t it make more sense to post this type of question on a labview support forum and tell them your application is controlling an rov than posting it on a robotics forum asking about how to write labview code?

perhaps an analogy would be walking into an alanon group session looking for help with a compulsive gambling problem… just a thought.
:unamused:

also maybe I misunderstood the point of the question… or which end of the system you were asking for help with. I’m not really sure. :open_mouth:

Sorry, I think I drank too much coffee when I posted the question.