Help me build a custom BRAT

hey there guys,

I’m Vyshak, i’m new to this robotics world. i have a competition coming up, in which we need to build a robot that has to do the basic move, i.e forward, backward, left anf right, also it has to clear the obstacle like a step, that comes consectively every 110 cm, and the height of the step is around 6-10cm.

i was looking through this Lynxmotion Biped BRAT Combo Kit, but when i asked the support center of robot shop, they said its only approx 15cm in height, and cannot serve our purpose, and ask us to use a servo bracket, and to use a powerful servo, also to increase the degrees of freedom.

can anyone of u please help me or guide me constructing the robot that can solve my problem.

its really urgent…thnx,

regards,
Vyshak.

You could possibly make one of these…

Using these larger HS-755MG servo brackets…

You would need to make the feet yourself. Perhaps with 1/4" foam PVC panels. But everything else is off the shelf. :slight_smile:

hey thanx a lot,

but if we change the servo brackets, will it affect the stability?

do we need to change the servo’s?

and do we need to add another degree of freedom to the feet? and if so how to add it?

once again thnx for helping me out.

regards,
Vyshak.

The brackets are much larger so the robot would be larger as well. I doubt it would effect the stability much as you are just scaling it up. I would recommend you use the HS-5745MG servos though. You can add DOF’s as you want. Please look at some of the Biped tutorials for more ideas.

Aw Jim you know you want to build one of these up and take pictures… you could even call it the MegaBRAT :exclamation:

:laughing:

thx a lot guys…

hey guys…i need to buy the brat with the modification u guys said…but can i get the servos that is the HS-5745MG instead of the existing 6 servo’s???

and also can i get the 2 brackets with the package…