Hello, new member here

Hi everybody,

Just registered here after browsing the site for a while. I've read a few electronics courses at university and done some basic soldering, but mostly I'm a newbie. I'm from Sweden, 25 years old, and started programming in QuickBASIC when I was 13, and moved along most of the popular languages.

I've wanted to build a robot since a few years back, when I bought a RC 1/16 scale tank. Last summer, unemployed and not willing to spend much money on existing sensors at the time, using a breadboard I experimented with IR transistors and LEDs trying to make some kind of distance / proximity sensor. However, my efforts were fruitless, although it was fun to learn. I hooked up the IR transistor to an oscilloscope and decoded the signals from my TV remote =)

My idea is this:

Cannibalize some of the existing electronics on the tank. Add an attiny or atmega, I've programmed these before, but unsure wether Arduino or something could be a better start. Use a Sharp IR or PING))) as a distance sensor, and make it avoid obstacles.

More along the project I'm planning on adding more Sharp IR's to the sides and back so it can navigate abit smarter, adding maybe a compass (tobad GPS won't work indoors). An accelerometer would be nice to detect tilt / accelerations ("gas"-wise) and collisions.

Finally I want to build a "radar" (sonar) tower on top of the tank turret. This tower should be able to pan at least 180 degrees horizontally and perhaps even vertically too. I want to equip the tower with a PING))) sensor, maybe a webcam or camera of some kind, and a human heat IR sensor to detect humans. Maybe a microphone to detect sounds (voice recognition sounds more of a dream than reality).