Gripper Issues LSS

Hey all,

I am new to the forum, so thank you in advance for any help.

I am coming up with units for my students to do in class using the 4dof LSS robot arms?

I am just getting started and came up on my first issue. Trying to pick something up quickly exceeds the servo’s gripper settings causing it to relax and not pick up the item.

In the classroom I would want the kids to do a number of different activities with the arms, mostly involving picking things up.

Has anyone found a reliable way around the servo turn off issue?

Thanks again.

Edoga

1 Like

Yes, picking objects would definitely be something you’d want to do in that context!

You mentioned the gripper LSS cuts off (most likely triggering the safety current limit) when trying to pick up objects. What are you using to control the LSS 4DoF arm when doing so? Are you doing this through the LSS Config? The LSS FlowArm application? Something else (i.e.: Arduino, PC/Laptop/RPi/etc + Python? something else?)?

The LSS protocol has a motion command modifier specifically to make the LSS either go limp or hold (safely) a position when it encounters resistance (i.e.: a hard object that prevents motion).

If you are sending your own motion commands to the LSS in the gripper (ex: #0D900), you’ll need to add to it the CH modifier. You can read more about the LSS protocol here. More specifically, you should check out these two motion modifiers: CH and CL.

Both of these allow you to specify a current limit after which the LSS will either go limp (CL) or hold the position at a reduced current (CH), and thus not go into safe mode (and require a reset).

Cases where you’d use a CH are gripper closing motions or other motions where you may encounter resistance but it would be undesirable to end in safe mode (and go limp), such as when moving an object around.