GPS Guided Vehicles: Motor Quadrature Encoders vs ESC?

Hi all, I'm very new to electronics, R/C mechanics or anything related to robotics but I know programming.

I've read many good articles by people here regarding GPS guided vehicles and I noticed one of the most important thing is the precise control of motor speeds and steering servo.

If I understand correctly, both ESC and quadrature encoders can control motor speed with precision but I noticed all of the GPS guided vehicle articles uses ESCs and no encoders so my question is

Are quadrature encoders (with proper code and motor driver) suitable for GPS guided robots and if so, what is the advantage and disadvantage of using quadrature encoders(with programming and motor driver ) over ESC to control a robot's speed? Is there a point of putting both on a robot?

Edit:

changed somethings to make my intent more clearer.

If you do go with ESC’s

Get ones that give full power for reverse.  Many ESC’s have less power in reverse and this can cause issues with tank style steering.

I would go with an h-bridge like the rover 5 HB or a mini-driver

See: https://www.robotshop.com/letsmakerobots/node/39098

Wheels and steering

The steering mechanism plays also a good role. If you have a motor to spin the rear wheels and a servo to steer, you can get an almost straight travel, but with two wheels with differential drive and a castor wheel encoder or/and a compass are needed.

ESC can correct differential drive drifting by making a motor to spin slower than the other but needs a feedback to work. I’ve still to try encoders anyway:)

Yes, I did read about some

Yes, I did read about some ESC have less power in reverse but I did not realised its effect on tracked vehicles until you mentioned it, thanks.

I never knew about encoder

I just googled what castor wheel encoder and I never knew about encoder in the castor wheel is a good way to determine if a robot is stuck. I learned something new again :slight_smile: