Going to build a YDM!

'Going to build a YDM'

Bit ambitious as a first project, but I have 'some' background in programing.

Right now I am a student at University of Idaho. I am taking C++ and attend the ACM meetings. ACM is a group on campus that does programing challenges and is now dabling in robotics. They recently got an Arduino board, and it is my understanding that it uses C++.

This will be my first robot, except for a semester in high school where I programed a robot to navigate a maze using only a sequence of commands.

Am I better off getting an Arduino board to learn on, than a Picaxe 28x1? or stick with the reccomended hardware for the YDM? I do no plan to scavenge the bot for parts later, I would buy all new for my second bot.

Also, I have sourced all parts for the YDM from solarbotics.com except the sampler board! It would cost me nearly $40 USD to get one from the source provided. Does any one know of something availible in the US that could be used? (within reason and budget! :p )

I think I would build my bot with the slower GM3 like the YDM II, instead of the GM9 on the original. I figured out what they were using by watching the video's, the original YDM is faster!

I also would like to put a downward looking IR sensor to detect cliffs if the Picaxe would have support for it. (looking at its specs, it has plenty of pins for extra goodies)

Anyway! looking forward to bot building and programing.

-Tevis

A Yankee Doodle Ministry!
A Yankee Doodle Ministry! Can I join?

Parts for the YDM are
Parts for the YDM are ordered!

Parts have been here for a

Parts have been here for a while… still in their box.

Got the picaxe out and played with it making beeps… got it to play marry had a little lamb :stuck_out_tongue:

I ordered a sheet of the 1/8 pvc board, I’ll be making the body from that.

Anyway… Thought I would give an update.

I hope to work on getting the body assembled this weekend.

Man! You must have a defective board