Getting Started with the 4WD Wild Thumper

Hello,

This is my first post here.  I'm sorry if these are very basic questions.

I just purchased a Dagu 4WD Thumper Chassis and controller board and I need some help getting started.  I have a 7.2v battery and charger coming, and this will be an autonomous project, receiving instructions from another computer.  I'm new to the hardware side of this project, and am a little embarrassed that I've run into a question so soon...I've read the pdf's on the controller and chassis, but still dont see how its supposed to be set up.  I do have pretty basic electronics knowledge at the moment, its slowly improving.

I have been looking at the connectors tied to the thumper chassis, and the Moto 1 and 2 connectors on the Dagu controller board.  What kind of cable connects the chassis to the dagu board?  When I do receive the battery, will I need to get a connector/adapter to connect it to the controller board?

After seeing video on the high-power switch, I'm thinking of getting it, though I'm not quite sure I need it.  If doing that changes the types of cables/connectors I need please let me know, but at present I want to go ahead without it.

Lastly, I had assumed my program could pass instructions to the board by USB - I just want to confirm that this is the case?  Or do I need a USB to serial cable?

Thank you very much

If using jumper wires like

If using jumper wires like this (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8430) to connect the board to chassis, how exactly do they connect?  I have four motors and two groups on the board, I’m assuming some kind of Y-connection is needed?  Would you guys usually just wire such a cable yourself or should I be looking for a pre-fabricated cable?

Thanks

Thanks OddBot!That’s great

Thanks OddBot!

That’s great news about the USB, perfect, thanks.

I’ve got a 5000mAh LiPo and charger coming as well, so all’s good so far.