First blog post

I'm thinking this might be a better way to track what's going on with my bot (and me with robotics) rather then clutter up the bots page since not much of this is pertinent to the bot itself.  I am still working on it, and I have not disappeared... not that anyone would notice the new guy who never participates in anything leaving. :)

I work as an apprentice electrician (IBEW Local 340) and was recently laid off because of lack of work.  This happens a lot as we work construction and when one job is nearing completion there are less people needed.  As I'm waiting for another job to start up I have time to work on things, just less money to buy them with because unemployment only pays about half of what working does.

I haven't put as much time into my bot as I would have liked lately, as while working it turned out that I only had about 1 day a week (Sunday) to work on it.  And once football season started up I only had about half a day on Sunday as I like to watch the 49ers play.  (Go Niners!)  Also I had started working on another little electronics project which wasn't a robot, I was thinking about putting it up on here, but at the moment it's something that I think might be marketable so I don't want to put it up on the internet until I've completed it and looked into whether or not I could market it.  I think it's a good idea that hasn't been done before and don't want to kick myself later for someone else making it. :)  Once I've exhaused selling options I plan to put it up here for other people to enjoy if they want.