Eric the Tug (NEW: Li-Ions, ATTinys and a question... And Photos.)

Before.JPG (1156941Bytes)
After.JPG (1171647Bytes)
SL733122.AVI (2463268Bytes)
Tug_Switch.zip (2971Bytes)

Hi. This is my first project post (but not my first project), so sorry if I've done anything wrong.

Before.jpg

I'm not sure if I'm OK to post this, as it is an RC model, but if not then I'll take it down.

Eric is a converted static model of a new york harbour tug. A few years ago, I was given a load of bits and pieces, including a large fiberglass hull (I remote controlled this, and built a superstructure, but that is another project), some old meccano, and a Lindberg kit for a diesel tug. I left it on the side for a while, and built up the hull, until a couple of years ago I decided to try and remote control it.

This took about a year, and the layout inside you can see in the first picture. In this form, I was running it off 8 AAA rechargables (AAs would have sunk it), and it was fitted

After.jpg

out with a standard-sized reciver and a micro-servo for steering. For power, I was usinga motor I allready had, which was a bit on the heavy side and had a brass gear fixed to the shaft, geared onto the propshaft using a gear from a microwave oven. The motor was controlled by a large, heavy, 15-amp speed controller, which was total overkill as the motor drew less than an amp as stall current.

The motor and speed controller were mounted upfront, so to balance it I needed weight at the back. To do this, I superglued some large, heavy nuts at the back.

Apart from the drivetrain, Eric has LED lights in the interior, the searchlight, and the two navigation lights, which are powered by some pound-shop watch batteries, and turned on and off using a rotary switch (operated by a screwdriver down the funnel). The aerial is some coil wire wound up the mast, and plugged into the reciver using some pins

DSCF0960.jpg