Elev-8 Quadcopter

HoverflySPORTUsersGuideV1_1.pdf (3344826Bytes)

Updated 2012.02.24

Started 2011.12.21

Ok so I have been dying to build a Quadcopter. I saw the one that Fritzl had and the one that Ken Gracey from Parallax has. Apparently Parallax now sells the ELEV-8 kit as of last Friday. I was taking a tour of Parallax and they mentioned that I could be the first owner of the new kit. I could not resist. So this is my first time after buying the kit last Friday to start work on it.

Here is the kit laid out with all of the parts.

PIC_0182.jpg

The only things that you need to buy separate is a battery and a 6-Channel RC transmitter/receiver set up to run the Hoverfly sport board or a 7-Channel one if you want to add a video camera tilt option to the Quadcopeter

It comes with the Hoverfly Sport board that is powered by a Parallax Propeller and includes gyroscope and accelerometer onboard to do the flying and hovering.

PIC_0186.jpg

So far I spent about an hour assembling the motors with my Father [mainly because I am all thumbs…LOL]. The instructions leave a lot of room for interpretation and options based on your preferences. So don’t expect the usual Parallax thoroughness.

PIC_0183.jpg

One of the reasons it took so long was that there is a lot of parts included in the motor packages that we did not use according to the assembly diagram and that initially caused some of our confusion. Also I need to find my heat gun for all of the heat shrink that we will be using.

So that is it for today.

Update 2012.01.11

The first thing was to cut a 13" length of cable for each of the motor wires and solder them on to the motors and then cover it heat shrink.

PIC_0190.jpg

Then add the male connectors on the end with some heat shrink.

PIC_0189.jpg

So I did this for each of the four motors.

PIC_0188.jpg

Next I had to solder the female ends on to the ESC [Electronic Speed Controlers].

PIC_0193.jpg

I did this for each of the four ESC's

PIC_0192.jpg