Driving servos

Here ( https://www.robotshop.com/letsmakerobots/node/80 ) Frits had mentioned that either Arduino or PICAXE can control such and such number of servos. I'm pretty new to microcontroller world, so maybe my question will sounds a bit stupid... but I don't really get what we mean by saying "can only control X servos"? Does it actually mean, "platform X can have up to N serial outputs"? Because, AFAIK that's what servos are, aren't they?

Now, I can understand that PICAXE has also limitations due to the built-in Basic interpreter; but why Arduino?

Maybe I'm just misinterpreting the concept of how the servos work though...

To control a servo you need
To control a servo you need a digital output. You drive a servo by sending it pulses. The width of the pulse determines the position the servo will take. Read this: http://www.princeton.edu/~mae412/TEXT/NTRAK2002/292-302.pdf for more info on servos. The number of servos a controller can handle is limited to the number of digital outputs.

Servo pulses

A couple of other things to note about R/C servos and the pulses you’ll need to generate. The pulse must be sent to the servo roughly 50 times per second, so that’s 20ms between pulses. The repition rate is not critical, but it it’s too low, the servo will buzz.

You’ll need to make sure that every pulse is exactly the same width, when the servo isn’t moving. Any variation in pulse width will make the servo move (of course), something known as jitter. So if you have any timing uncertainties (e.g. use of interrupts, memory refresh, DMA activity) in your code, the servo will jitter. This is one reason why microcontrollers make better development machines than full-size PCs for this sort of thing.

I think the hard part of servo driving is to get smooth changes in pulse width from a microcontroller that’s doing many other things at the same time (e.g. driving other servos!).

Thanks, this is really
Thanks, this is really helpful!

Thanks, anachrocomputer,