Does experimenting help learning you to build robots yourself?

Hi, I'm fairly new with Robotics. I've been interested in all kinds of Sciences for a long time. After I saw a Video on a Wewssite about a robotic Dragonfly and a robotic lizard that could walk aswell swim using it's tail, I decided to look for things online to get started on Robotics. 

So far I've only found tutorials, books and video with titles like: 'Learn how to build your first robot', 'Learn how to build a robot', 'Your first robot' etcetera.

I have doubts about these websites, books and video's. They're all step-by-step instructions on how to build a simple robot, but they don't seem like they would be very effective at learning people how to build robots. We got steps like: Put this cable into this one, this one into that port, that one into this port etc.

Granted, it does teach you how to select the right wheels, tracks, sensors, motors and you get a nice robot, but back to the cables. If a tutorial just tells me to put them where the tutorial tells me to put them, how am I ever going to know by myself where to put 'em once I start designing and building my own stuff. I have a nice robot then and I have some cables, but I have no idea what to do with them whatsoever. 

Are there any tutorials that teach how  make your own stuff without step-by-step instructions from a 3rd party?

My take on the standard tutorial builds out there.

I believe the tutorials are designed like that because that seems to be how many people learn. They learn by doing. If they don’t know that their photo resistive voltage divider should be plugged in to an analog input to be able to sense light levels then it is better to be explicit. It might be useful to explain why a particular pin is being used over one of the other 20+ pins available.