Design options 5 DoF hydraulic arm for submersible Gold Mining Operation 10-30 Meter depth

Beginner here seeking advice or direction re: Outcome Desired: design for remote operated, underwater hydraulic arm for Gold Dredge business, maximum depth 10-30 meters, Job: moving, grasping, scraping, relocating rocks (3-8 inch diameter/ max 20kg) and bottom sediments, continuous operation 24/7. Arm operator on surface support vessel. I am a technically proficient fabricator with 3-D modeling and CAD (Fusion 360), and chemical engineering. Limited mechanical engin. exp. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated, on various approaches to achieve the desired Outcome i.e. a remote operated manipulator arm that can move sediments, rocks, etc. for a Gold dredge at minimal depth. Ive looked at commercial arms, but they are very expensive and I dont see any major technical obstacels to fabricating one myself. Problem is I have VERY limited experience with the available tech, parts and systems. Just need a starting point. Thank you very much in advance for assistance. Michael Hyder

@BeachBum Welcome to the RobotShop Community.

I’ve looked at commercial arms, but they are very expensive and I dont see any major technical obstacles to fabricating one myself

“Problem is I have VERY limited experience with the available tech, parts and systems”

That kind of seems like an obstacle. Consider that the cost of a commercial product is not just the sum of its parts, but also margin they have to make, as well as offset the significant R&D cost which went into developing the product in order to ensure it works to spec. Beyond that, if they decide to manufacture in-house, there’s the cost of the machinery etc. Even worse is that these are not “mass market”, so they need to recoup their money on just a small number of units.