Dagu Rover 5 2WD + 2Encoders + PCB + Arduino Mega + Pan & Tilt with IR

Hi All,

As a complete novice at this I thought it would be a great idea to get a Dagu Rover 5 with the addons for the kids at school and start up a club to program it.

How wrong I was!

I am in need of some serious help guys…

I’ve managed to plug everything in, the 2 motors and encoders on the underside of the PCB board and have chosen not to use the 6xAA battery pack (9V) in favour of a single 9V battery (fits better under the PCB with all the cables).

Problem number 1 is this: I think I am plugging in the black and red cables into the PCB in the correct locations - on the top side of the PCB are 6 inserts for cables (GND, 3.3V, GND, VOC, GND, +UB)

Am I right in thinking that the black goes to GND and the red goes to 3.3V?

It makes the red ‘LED2’ come on so I’m presuming it is right, the only issue is that the power switch won’t turn the LED off?

Problem number is this: I cannot find any documentation anywhere online that shows me how to wire up the Arduinio Mega with the PCB with the Pan and Tilt with the IR sensor.

If I can’t do this I don’t think the kiddies in school will be able to, although they probably could at some point in time.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated guys.

Sidenote: Also have some Asuro robots just getting soldered together with snake eyes :slight_smile:

I don’t have a seperate
I don’t have a seperate motor controller as I have the below item

http://www.thelittlebritishrobotcompany.co.uk/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=100

I can change the battery pack that isn’t an issue but the rest of it i.e. where do all the cables plug in and where the arduino code for basic programming is located. The other Dagu products seem to have much more support than this model.

9V - Could I use that
9V - Could I use that battery as a power source for the Arduino Mega instead of the Rover 5?

Whoa, slow down