CURT THE CREEPER

Hi,

I am a new member to Letsmakerobots and so far I am very impressed with the site, the people, and the projects.  I hope to learn and share with you all in the facinating and rapidly developing field of robotics and AI.

I am new to electronics as of several months ago after getting the Arduino starter kit.  After working through the examples and trying several small projects I had the opportunity and idea to make animatronic figures for Halloween at my house.  As a fan of minecraft I was inspired by the simple form of the characters (rectangular of course!) and thought they would be an easy way to start simple.  

My initial vision was to have many life-size interactive animatronic minecraft characters outside the house along with supporting props (cubic glowing moon on the roof, jackolanterns on fence posts, flickering torches on the walls, minecart and tracks etc.) 

However, time, knowledge and budget proved limiting and so I ended up focussing my efforts on one character, the simplest to build, THE CREEPER!  :)

My idea for THE CREEPER (now known as Curt) was to have him on the porch and interact with the kids.  I wanted to make it from translucent plastic so an explosion sequence could be lit up from the inside with bright leds and also have sound and movement capabilities.  Ideally I wanted it to be mobile, I decided on a tracked platform, with animatronic feet suspended above it from the body to appear as though walking.  I came up with a myriad of other possible features but decided to settle on just a few due to limited time (only a few weeks).