Controlling a DC Motor (Mabuchi FA-130)

Hello,

I'm trying to run a Mabuchi FA-130 (#18100) DC Motor, it uses 3V and 2.1A when stalled. However, I did some measures and when I forced the motor to stall it consumed nearly 4A, but I think this was some sort of coincidence since It has never happened again.

I'm using a circuit similar to this one posted by Simon Z in his post:

simple_dc_motor_sch.jpg

(By Simon Z and taken from https://www.robotshop.com/letsmakerobots/node/7990)

The difference being that after reading the comments on that post I'll use a BD139 transistor. Anyway, I'm studying Computer Science so I'm very bad with circuits, and I have some very basic that I'll appreciate if could be answered.

1. The BD139 transistor has a maximum current of 1.5A, won't it burn with my motor? If so, I couldn't find a 2.1A transistor, anyone know one? or can you make an equivalent one with some sort of transistor's grouping?
  2. Is there a simple way to limit the motor current so it will never burn the transistor?
  3. How do you choose the value of that resistance of 500 ohms and what is it for?
  4. I searched and read somewhere that the diode is used to protect the motor from the transistor on-off changes, is that correct? If so, how do you know which diode to use?

If at least one of these questions could be answered I'll appreciate it, thanks.

1. That means it can supply

1. That means it can supply up to that amount.

2. Look at 1

3. Limits the draw of the transistor to turn on. Multiply the current supplied by the resistor by the gain of the transistor for your current output limit.

4. it prevents backflow of the motor when you turn it off. You would probably want one with a higher ampereage rating. 4n4003 is good.

NPN Transistors

Hi tatofoo,

Just did a google for NPN transistor 5A and pulled up pages of hits - try this and check which available from your local suppliers

Darlington Pair