Chaotic First Project

Hello! I’ve been working on a small mobile robot for about a month now. This is my first project. I have a camera, two IMU’s (inertial measurement sensors), and a spinning ultrasonic sensor attached to it. The goal of the project is to learn different SLAM and data processing techniques. However, because I had very little experience starting the project, I didn’t design the robot to fit all of the components properly. The second layer just won’t fit on top of the second layer, due to all the wires getting in the way and such.

(above: irl image of the project; the photograph is a few weeks old, and doesn’t show the now-present wire mess.)

As you can see, there are three layers. The first layer contains the motors for the wheel, batteries, the motor driver, and an arduino. The second layer has a rasberry pi along with a camera, and Bluetooth communication. The third layer has the spinning ultrasonic sensor.

As most of my beginner projects are, it’s a chaotic mess. I’ve learned a ton (ranging from I2C protocols to how a motor works), but it gives me anxiety to think about it. I very much would like to be able to use the robot to learn some SLAM techniques, but would it be best to start a new project with a predetermined use for the robot, rather than a learning tool for myself? I might be able to learn things as they come along, but I’m not sure. I’ve spent quite a bit of time on the project and it’s failure is rather depressing. No matter what I chose, I hope to keep working and learning in spite of any failure.

Apologies for the long post.

@Utetwo Welcome to the RobotShop Community!

Apologies for the long post.

Don’t apologize - long posts are encouraged as they give background, rationale, explanations and insights. The only suggestion would be to include this instead in the “Robots” section rather than the forum. Note that when you create a Robot post, the discussion associated with it goes to the forum and the two are linked.