Capacitors

Hi y'all, just joined LMR, fantastic site, lovin' it already . . .

I am a bit of a beginner to robotics, I mean I can program and all that, and make these things, but I know not how or why they work.

One thing I have been wondering is about capacitors:

When designing a circuit, how does one know where to place capacitors, or why to have them, or how they function in that position?

With this circuit in particular (from here: https://www.robotshop.com/letsmakerobots/node/2074), why the caps?

those two in the top-right, why do they both need to be there?

I guess my three main questions are (focussing on this circuit):

1. Why are the capacitors there? (and what they do)

2. How do you know to stick them there?

3. How do you know what type/size, or whther they must be polarised?

Any light shed on this would be much appreciated.

I would also like some more

I would also like some more information on capacitors as I only vaguely understand how they work and what they do.
But for your specific circuit I think all the capacitors are there to suppress noise in the system that might raise problems for your microcontroller or sensors.

Noise?

What exactly do you mean by ‘noise’ in the circuit?

Is that just jagged spikes in the current and that? How exactly does that present a problem, and, like I ask before, How do you know what type/size capacitor to fix it?

Video…

Hey flare and Geir, the guy in this video is kinda annoying, but he explains capacitors pretty well…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYH9dGl4gUE

I think I have seen this

I think I have seen this video before and I think that guy is great :slight_smile:

But it doesn’t really tell me much about what the different types of capacitors are used for. I understand that you can’t have a polarized cap on the motors but what about the two capacitors at the top right. One 100uF polarized and a 0.1uF none polarized, -why and why those exact values?