Building a wild thumper GPS enabled Raspberry pi Robot Serial vs I2C

Good morning,

I am trying to build a GPS guided wild thumper. I have invested in some hardware and have been mucking about with it for a while now. But to be clear, I am a beginner.

This is what I have:

-Raspberry Pi 2 with a NoIR camera

-T'rex Motor controller (Dagu)

-The 4WD Wild Thumper Chassis

-nRF24L01+ radio controller x2

-Arduino nano

-SKYLAB SKM53 GPS unit

-A Couple of SR04 Ultrasonic distance units

-A Battery 7.4 LiPo

-Bi directional level shifter 3v3 to 5v

-A few other sensors I wanted to stick on the thumper...

My original thoughts were to use my Raspberry Pi2 as the control centre... this is how I intended to do it:

-   RPI I2C bus (Master)---> T'rex motor controller I2C (Slave)    (ehem!)

-   RPI UART ----> SKYLAB GPS

-   RPI GPIO ----> SR04 (With appropriate voltage divider)

-   RPI GPIO ----> Lights/Other sensors (With appropriate voltage divider)

-   RPI SPI -------> nRF24L01+

-   RPI NoIR camera

My first attempt has so far been rather disappointing ...

Turns out there is a clock stretching issue with the RPi (That has not been fixed since the first version of the RPi). There are software solutions which I have tried, that give me variable results. The I2C bus hangs/drops , slowing down the RPi's clock works somewhat, but still occasionally hangs the arduino(T'rex controller), unless the arduino's code is efficient enough to keep it up to the speed of the RPi (Which the current, quite elegant code-- by Odbot, doesn't seem to do). I've attempted to simplify the code, and with some slowing down of the RPi's I2C clock, have had some (but unsatisfactory) success. I would like to have a more stable way of operating the robot. I would also like to keep the RPi as part of my setup.