Boards usable with Java?

Can anyone point me towards any boards that I can program directly with Java, or that will run byte code?

I work on a day to day basis using Java/Scala/Groovy, and while I can handle stuff like Audrino C, and I'm just starting to learn Spin, I'm really missing being able to work in a grown up IDE with full tool chain to make life easy.

I have seen the Javalin Stamp, which can handle Java, but  it's a fairly limited board. I am really looking for something like a JVM aware Audrino, or a Propellor - that sort of scale of functionality.

Can anyone make any suggestions?

I think a board that can run

I think a board that can run Java will be hard to come by as 6677 says. I can’t see why one would run a virtual Java machine on a microcontroller in the first place. On a microcontroller one need all the resources one can get.

If you miss a full-scale programming environment you should have a look at the FEZ microcontroller lineup or the Netduino, as you’ll be programming in C# in probably the best IDE (Visual Studio).
Look at https://www.robotshop.com/letsmakerobots/node/22504
And I must point out the on chip debugging feature. It’s amazing to halt your microcontroller to examine values, even change them on the fly and set the microcontroller free again. Amazing stuff!

“Before C#, there was only darkness”
:smiley:

Hi SlowSteve

I’ve never found a popular low level micro-controller which supported Java.  I too like Java - primarily because of the giant amount of well organized open source projects which you can integrate with.

I was interested in making micro-controllers more powerful, by getting them to communicate with bigger micro-processors (PCs etc). The outcome is MyRobotLab.  Here are the FAQs.   Currently it communicates & controls with an Arduino.  The smallest platform I’ve currently gotten MRL to run on is a ARM-7 processor of the Cumby but it “should” be capable of running on any Android Phone (I don’t currently have one).