Bi-directional speed controller

Hi all.

I am really new to robotics, and only just recently got my arduino uno. i've played around a bit here and there to learn how to control servo's and such, so i figured it's time for me to build my first robot. but in the design, i've come across a few problems:

1: the robot i intend to build needs to be able to haul its approx. 10KG butt around (including motors), so i decided on using 2x 6v 3a motors. this on it's own is a problem, considering the l293d can only handle up to just over 1a. i've considered stacking them to share the load, but then i'd need 14 of them to include 3 servo's aswell (that's if i use 3 per motor/servo. i've estimated the servos to draw 3a each aswell, as they are going to have large loads on them).

2: i need to control the speed of the motors as well as the direction. other than using an ESC, what's the easiest way to do this? also, if i do use an ESC, how do i link it up to be used with an l293d/other motor controller?

3: the arduino doesn't have enough pins for the design i've thought up

4: i'd like to use as few components as possible, in hopes of keeping costs minimal...

can anyone give me some ideas on how to make this work?

thanks for taking the time to read this.

If you use 2 298 chips instead of 293,