Best microcontroller for me to use?

Hey guys, Cycloned here. I am just hoping to start with Robotics. I know nothing, I have an NXT kit and have done some work with that, but nothing at a higher level, and now that Im in engineering I understand I've got to stop using such kits and actually start building robots from parts. I would like to know what microcontroller that I should use. There are some events in my college (robo wars, robo soccer, sumo wars, and an obstacle course) that I wish to participate, so I was wondering what would be well suited for such competitons.

I understand that since Im a beginner, I should probably use an augmented controller, so please do recommend one, and other things I might need to get started. I am going to be reading other articles on this forum, and I would appreciate being linked to guides, tuts, videos, etc so I can learn as much as possible.

Thanks!

Mbed, fast, ARM and not very hard

If I understand your question correctly, you are following some sort of enginering class, and want to make some sort of robot. You may be a beginner, but if you are doing some sort of enginering course that includes electronics enginering, I’d like to suggest mbed. You could just start with Arduino, like everybody and their grandparents, or if you want some real power, start with something a bit harder. No hard feelings for Arduino, I use it a lot. I am studying Electronics enginering, and we use mbed. On mbed.org they got something called a “cookbook” should be enough to get you started. The community is a lot smaller then the Arduino community, but code is generally of way higher quality.

Thom

Mbed, fast, ARM and not very hard

Double post due to slow server and not enough patience. Sorry, my bad

Choosing a processor is like

Choosing a processor is like choosing a religion or an operating system.  Everybody has a strong opinion as to which is right but somehow everyone ends up in the same place.