Beginner here. I need some direction

I have come to a point in my life where I have some free time for a new hobby and I think robotics is something I could enjoy.

As I understand it, the following seems to be the basic skillset necessary to really get into robotics:

- ability to understand and create mechanical features with your hands

- have an understanding of electrical circuitry (especially in the context of commonly used robotics components)

- have an understanding of event driven computer programming

And of course, one would need hand tools, building materials, certain robotics components, and sometimes some spare cash.

I'm sure Ive left some items out here, but I believe I got the just of it.

I think the only thing holding me back right now is my lack of circuitry knowledge. I'm good with my hands, I have been programming in Microsoft Visual Basic and VBA for a few years now (so I understand event driven programming, I just will have to apply my knowledge to a new language). Furthermore, I have been into RC cars/planes for about the last 10 years or so (so I have several servos, recievers, batteries, etc. laying around here), and tools...I have tools.

So my question is, what do I need to do to learn the circuitry? I learned some very basic circuitry in my Physics II class (I'm a couple of semesters away from a degree in Civil Engineering), but I don't know enough. However, I CAN learn it, I just want to get the most appropriate resources possible.

I did some searching in these forums and found that many of you reccomend certain websites and tutorials. However, some of you also listed some literature. The literature I've seen reccomended is "Evil Genius" books. They have "Electronic Circuits for the Evil Genius," "Robotics Experiments for the Evil Genius," and "Mechatronics for the Evil Genius." I have also seen "Practical Electronics for Inventors" listed as well.