Battery Question

Hi all,

I am very new to building robots and don't have much knowledge of electronics, apart from the basics many years ago at school.

However, I got an arduino at the weekend and have started doing experiments with it. I've just managed to take apart a cheap RC toy car and get the arduino to make it go backwards and forwards via a L293D motor driver and a very basic program. There are two motors in the car - the other one is a DC one attached to rack and pinion steering - I've not connected this to the other side of the L239D though yet.

I measured the voltage across the motor in the car before I took it apart and it was 4-5 volts (can't remember exactly what).

At the moment, I've got 4xAA rechargeable batteries connected to the L293D to power the motor. I'm using a separate battery to power the arduino.

I now want to use something a little better for the motor power. From what little I understand, the motor driver causes a voltage drop of 1.5v. Are there any recommendations for batteries? I've seen plenty of 7.2v RC battery packs with tamiya connectors but would this be too much? Alternatively I've seen a few 6 volt packs too.

Any recommendations to what's the best to spend my money on? I'd prefer to buy a battery/charger that can be used in my future robot projects.

Thanks in advance - sorry for the long post!

It would probably be helpful