Basic "Start Here" Robot (with Arduino)

I am brand new to robotics and I am about to try and build my first robot as a learning experience to get familiar with the basics (based on the "Start Here" design by Frits). I'll be using and Arduino Uno board instead of a Picaxe however.  After reading some other posts I have come up with a list of parts and several questions. I actually have some of these parts already but wanted to sanity check that I am on the right track. I am pretty comfortable with learning the programming aspect of this but want to make sure I have a good start on the right hardware configuration. I'm a little lost when I see postings discussing use of resistors, transistors, and capacitors, but I am anxious to learn all this (and it sounds like this simple robot is a good way to get started). So here's my parts list.

1 Arduino Uno
1 Adafuit Motor Shield http://www.adafruit.com/products/81 (decided to use this vs. a breadboard with a motor chip)
1 Sharp IR sensor http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1136
1 Standard servo (Radio Shack) to control the IR sensor
2 DC geared motors (1:120) http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1121
2 Solar robotics GMPW-B Wheels (http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/199)
Batteries and wiring for (9v or 4 AA)?

Here's a few questions:

1. I'd like to also experiment with an ultrasonic sensor (SRF-06) - http://arduino-direct.com/sunshop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=115
 I did not see the SRF-05 for sale anywhere, but I assume the SRF-06 will work fine with the hardware list above?