Artist, first time robot creator

Hi everyone. I'm an art student who's doing my instillation for my Advanced Drawing class on automated art and the creative power of robots. Needless to say I'm quite lost when it comes to the mechanics of it. I got ideas, but ideas don't mean ■■■■ if they're not backed up by knowledge. That's why I'm asking you guys for help, and hopefully I can take the advice and use it to make some really effective pieces.

For the record, I don't have drawings of these (despite me having a vision of the final product in my head). I only just decided I'm going forward with the project, so descriptions will have to do.

In my mind, I'm picturing a roll of thick-weight paper going between two rollers, with a motor consistantly turning the rollers causing the paper to move, having it look like an asembly line. There will be colored ink or watercolors dripping onto the paper from above, which doesn't require any specific electronics. The "complicated" part would be a pen consistantly moving back and forth on one sie of the paper. In order to make the completed drawing interesting, I need some sort of way to introduce a randomness factor. I was considering having the pen speed up whenever the light level changed, or perhaps what would be even better is speeding up when a detector detects non-white on the paper in a specific location.

These are just ideas. And ideas are nothing if I can't put them into practice. I have some experience (in that I can solder and that my sister's boyfriend is fantastic at robots), I'm just curious if anyone can share resources to help me get started. I know basically nothing. I know to salvage motors from printers to use to spin the rollers, but I have no idea how to hook them up to a power source, and I know practically nothing about how to hook up a white-sensitive or light-sensitive detector to a motor that makes a pen go back and forth at varying speeds.