Artificial Intelligence Questionaire

Hi Guys,

I'm new to robots etc. I am currently doing a school project on artificial intelligence and wanted to do some research. I thought why not go talk to the experts so here I am. I have already done some background research and already know the general definition but part of the project requires me to gain information from a range of sources. This is a kind of questionaire/interview to gain new sources from experts.

Could you please explain in your own way "What is Artificial Intelligence?" and "How can you prove when a robot has AI?". Please make the answers as detailed as possible.

My chosen project is to design and create a robot (i.e line follower) and discuss whether or not it posseses AI. 

Also could you suggest a robot ( line follower or maze solver) which would be closest to AI in order for me to raise a good discussion.

Thanks for the help!

I do not need one definite

I do not need one definite answer, i need different views

My opinion

What is AI?

AI or Artificial Intelligence with respect to robots means that the robot will learn from previous behavior with some manner of positive or negative reinforcement. To contrast this with many of the robots found on LMR, if you look at the programming that allows them to function, you will likely notice pattern recognition in the program, or, level based conditional statements, such as, dangerlevel = 80 for example.

How can you prove when a robot has AI?