Arduino/ servo/ RC basics

I'll start off admitting that I'm a complete novice at robot building, so pardon me for what is probably stupid questions. I have bought an arduino with the intention of building a robot and have an idea of doing so mainly with servos, and I know that I can probably run them off the arduino without any problems helped by the arduino servo library, but can I just plug them in directly to the arduino or do I need a resistor in between or something? And question 2 How do I make my robot controllable via R/C? How do I put those circuits(?) together? I'm thinking of using some of these components: Arduino UNO

Servos: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/%5F%5F9549%5F%5FTurnigy%5FTG9e%5F9g%5F1%5F5kg%5F0%5F10sec%5FEco%5FMicro%5FServo.html And for R/C control: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/%5F%5F9041%5F%5FHobby%5FKing%5F2%5F4Ghz%5F6Ch%5FTx%5FRx%5FV2%5FMode%5F1%5F.html

I guess I'll worry about the code later on...

Thanks for all your help in advance! Hayabusabot

I would start worrying about the code now…

Everything you want to do can be done, but you have a few steps to get there --and you are going to have to learn code, period.

Servos are quite easy and yes, the servo library will take care of actually sending a signal to them to control the position. That said, there are different ways to make them move smothly and with the right “timing” which are all done through code and must be learned. In terms of hardware, yes, it is typical to use a current-limiting resistor on the signal wire going to the servo. I have seen this resistor with a value of 330 to 4k7 in different set-ups. I think the arduino manual calls for a 4k7 but double check me on this one. If you use a shield, these resistors are commonly included with designated “servo” connections.