Arduino Object Avoidance with PING and Hacked RC Car

Finished Bot Here: https://www.robotshop.com/letsmakerobots/node/26101

Before I begin I am a Senior Electrical Engineer student in college. This is a project im working on for my design class. I am very new to arduino and its language. Having said that here we go:

Working on an object avoiding vehicle using Arduino and Ping ultrasound sensor. I hacked an old rc car. Basically removed all the guts and replaced it with a breadboard and the arduino. I am still using the 9V rechargeable battery pack that came with the car to power the 2 motors through an L293D chip and a regular 9v battery to power the arduino. When I turn on the robot it runs well and responds while im holding it in the air so the code seems to be working. But then things go bad. Here are the issues i've come across so far.

After a while it begins to slow down and stop as you can see in the video. Battery is charged

When changing directions it badly stutters. will post another video soon showing this.

Not enough torque to run on carpet. Runs on tile but slows to a stop when changing directions.

When I grab one wheel to stop it while its running the other slows and eventually stops. Not too much of an issue there but just wondering why it happens since they are running independantly? gueesing it has to do with the overheating of the L293D.

I left the original two capacitors going across the motors attached, tried removing them and had same issue so I put them back. Also the L293D (can handle 0.6 amps) chip gets VERY hot while its running and starts to smell like its burning. I ordered a chip called  ‘SN754410‘ from Texas Instruments. It can handle double the current of the L293D and has the same pin layout. It comes in next week so hopefully that will make a difference. Will update when it comes