Arduino Bot has a mind of its own?

Object_Avoidance_Servo_Ping_Led.pde (5754Bytes)

Hello,
    My bot seems to have a mind of its own. code seems to be working but at times it react to an object thats not there??? its set to find a better path after coming within 30 cm of an object but sometimes theres nothing there and it looks for a better path? can this be from the ping returning false values, or i think it might be from the 9v battery draining quickly. Any ideas?? Thanks oh, I'm using Arduiino Duemilanove. Code is attached

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiXvlV6-0S8

Can you post some side

Can you post some side views?  It looks like your ping))) sensor is blocked by the bumper.  I’m sure you didn’t build it that way. 

OK, I’m pretty new at this

OK, I’m pretty new at this level of knowledge of the Arduino, but I think this is something to try.

Your code uses analogWrite for PWM on pins 10 (leftSpeedPin) and 11 (rightSpeedPin).  The Arduino Duemilanove has six pins that work with PWM. This post was pretty informative. PWM uses different processor timers for different pins.

Pin 10 uses Timer 1 and pin 11 uses Timer 2. Timer 2 is also used by pin 3, if you use analogWrite on that pin. Since it is OK (in fact, good) to have your two motors run at a shared frequency for PWM, you will use less resources if you move leftSpeedPin to pin 3.

Now both of your PWM pins will use Timer 2. This should free up some timer resources, and may help.

I have to run now. Can you try this and see if it help? I’ll try to check back later.

Maybe someone more knowledgable than I can assist too.

It not, check out this pic,

It not, check out this pic, i thought that was the problem too but nope. Thanks 

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g309/elijah504/IMG00533-20110403-1138.jpg

I see your point. Thanks