Arduino Beginner Episode 1: Hello World

Screen_shot_2010-05-15_at_10.39.51_PM.png

Hello all! In this walkthrough, I'm going to show you the basics of the Arduino and how to blink an LED. I know this has been done many times, but since I'm hoping to create a series of tutorials, this is where I'm going to start.

Step One: Purchase your Arduino.

There are many outlets where you can buy an Arduino. Some include Sparkfun, Solarbotics, Maker's Shed, and many others. If you are a total beginner to electronics and microcontrollers, I highly recommend the basic version (as of this writing, the Deumilanove). It comes at a pretty reasonable price (actually very cheap, if you remember things like the BASIC Stamp). The Deumilanove is a very flexible chip, and comes with plenty of pins for the beginner to be satisfied with. You could buy just the Arduino, but I highly recommend the project pack from Make because you get goodies like jumper wires, potentiometers, and switches.

Step Two: Set it up

What you will need to use your Arduino are a USB cable (the type you would use to plug into a printer, it has a big head) and the software.

Download the software from http://arduino.cc/ and set it up. It should come with drivers too.

Restart for the drivers to take effect, then plug your Arduino in to the computer. You should see a little green light turn on.

Launch the software. You will be presented with a simple IDE. Read on to step 3...

Step 3: Get going!

Alright, so we're getting there. Now we're going to blink an LED! First, we're going to blink the Arduino's built in LED.