Advice for selecting a university course in robotics

Heey guys,

I've just joined your community after going through your website. I loved it so decided to make an account!

I'm a 18 year old student currently living in Melbourne, Australia. I currently study an Advanced Diploma of Computer Science which I will be finishing in a couple months. To be honest just writing software (especially GUI's) for business, etc. doesn't interest me.

I've always had a passion for knowing how things work and designing things. But unfortunately I've never really finished any cool projects yet.

Now on to my questions:

What kind of University Degree/Course is recommended by you guys?
Should I do a Bachelors in Mechatronics? Computer Science? Mechanics? Science? or even a double degree?

And after that, what kind of jobs could I do after I've finished?

I'm quite in doubt what I wanna be doing for the next couple of years. But I have enough time to figure it out ;)
Any response, advice and useful information is much appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

Hmmm… I have asked the

Hmmm… I have asked the same question some time ago and the answers were mostly like amcduino’s, but some also suggested mechatronics (from what I’ve understood, it teaches you how to make a protoype and is a mix of electrical and mechanical engeneering and computer science), dynamics and kinematics. I just turned 14 today and I settled on mechatronics, which, I guess, is a quick way to learn robotics without achieving perfection in every domain involved.

writing s/w for business may