A question about hooking up 2 LDRs to 1 picaxe input

Hey everybody. I am a long time lurker on this site and I would like to thank you all for all the valuable information here. I have built a start here bot and a few more complex things of my own. Now I am trying to build a very small sized robot with a picaxe 08m.

I am a beginner in electronics. I know how to hook up a LDR and read the input, but I would like to know if there is a possibilty to hook up 2 to 1 input. The problem is I am short 1 input on my robot and all the other picaxe pins are in use. The 2 ldrs would be used as left and right eyes in a sense.

So, is there any simple schematic to hook up 2 ldrs in a fashion that would make it possible to read comparative data from it?

For instance that the adc input 0 or something else low would mean the left sensor sees more light, a middle reading of 127 would mean they are the same and 255 would mean the right sensor sees something brigther.

THanks all who bother to answer. Il hopefully be posting my micro scale robot on christmas :)

Seems to me…

I would assume and maybe others can confirm, you could make a resistor bridge with them. --Two sensors, each with 2 legs. Connect one wire each (from each sensor) together. This conection will go to an ADC input. With the remaining 2 pins, 5v+ will go to one and ground to the other. That’s it. I have never done this but in theory, it should work.

Here is your test code:

main:

readadc pin,b0

debug

goto main

Now shine your flashlight on each sensor and note the numbers. --Should work.

Like I said I am a beginner

Like I said I am a beginner at this stuff, but what you said actually sounds pretty logical. I have to wait about 5 days til I get the LDRs to confirm though.

Thanks for the idea!

I’ve used this arrangement