A circuit to distinguish between 3 given sound clips

hello guys
I am totally new to the world of robotics but am trying to build my 1st robo.
Please tell me how to make a circuit which can distinguish between 3 given sounds clips on the basis of frequency, amplitude or the sound itself prefarably without using a PIC because i dont know much programming.
Thanks.

First off, why the double

First off, why the double post? You posted the identical question with a slightly different subject elsewhere. This will split people’s responses and make it more difficult to track your question. You should revise one of your two posts and point readers to the other one so you collect all the comments in one post.

Second, if you are very new to robotics and programming, is it safe to assume you are also new to electronics in general? This project may be a bit difficult to start with, if that is the case. Have you taken a look at the Start Here robot? It doesn’t have any kind of sound sensor, but you will learn alot and that can help build both the knowledge and a phycical platform on which to build the robot you want.

Finally, I’ll get around to answering your question. ; j

To build a circuit that can distinguish between three sounds that are a different frequencies, you will need several components.

1. A microphone or audio input to receive the signal
  2. An audio amplifier to boost the received signal
  3. A set of filters to differentiate the frequencies.
  4. Logic to tell additional circuitry and/or your microprocessor what frequencies are being received.

It is a lot more difficult, BTW, if you are trying to distinguish between several audio clips, all of which have a range of frequencies. That’s complicated stuff. If you want to distinguish between low-frequency, mid-frequency, and high-frequency tones, then the approach above may work, but still require significant skill to design and build